Standing up and eating

DSC05478

For years, I have been reading the incredibly good food blog Orangette.  I check it regularly and get a little disappointed if there hasn’t been a post for a while.  Molly Wizenberg writes with such honesty and uncontrived enthusiasm that I often find myself reading through her back catalogues and reemerge from her blog several hours later.  Molly is more than a little obsessed with granola; toasted muesli to the non Americans amongst us.

Having finally found a good source of gluten free oats in Australia, I decided to give one of her recipes a try.  It is quite the simplest thing to make, you combine all the ingredients in a big bowl and then toast it in the oven.  The most complex part of this recipe is having the self discipline to stir the granola every ten minutes or so during cooking.  Do not do what I did at the weekend and wander off and temporarily forget about it as you will return to find burnt edges and this may induce tears.  When you’re using pricey ingredients like maple syrup and olive oil, waste is the last thing you need.  Stir my friends, stir, like you’ve never stirred before.

As I made this for the first time, I remember being a bit nonchalant, thinking things along the lines of…how good can this be?  It’s only granola.  Well, what a fool I am!  It is delicious.  This small collection of crunchy things has a strange power over me now.  It has somehow morphed into a life force all of its own.  After I let the first batch cool for about an eighth of a second, I dipped my hand into the tray and sort of threw it at my face.  Granola is really quite unruly when eaten on its own, without the discipline of milk to keep it in line.  The crispy mouthful was savoury, rich and luscious.  It kind of feels like staying in a posh hotel, you feel instantly at home but luxury pervades.

DSC05473

Now, I don’t know about you but I want my mouth to feel like it is waking up in a luxury hotel every morning.  And therefore, I now make this all the time.  Every time I make a batch, as soon as it is out of the oven,  I stand and lean on the kitchen counter whilst throwing it mostly at my mouth and a little at the floor.  It is not just for breakfast, it is an all day event for me.  I have to limit myself or it would all be gone in a day.

So, you should probably make this.  I guarantee you’ll be standing in the kitchen, throwing it at your own face if you do.

Recipe by Molly Wizenberg, featured on Orangette

600 grams old-fashioned rolled oats
100 to 150 grams unsweetened coconut chips
400 grams nuts , chopped if you like
2 teaspoons sea salt
1 cup (240 ml) maple syrup
2/3 cup (160 ml) olive oil

  • Preheat your oven to 150 degrees
  • Line two large baking trays with greaseproof paper
  • Combine all the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  • Whisk the maple syrup and oil together until combined
  • Pour wet ingredients over dry and stir to combine
  • Divide between the two trays and spread out
  • Put in preheated oven and stir every ten minutes
  • I find it takes about 35 minutes, keep a close eye and use your judgement, you’re looking for the colour in the photos.

Once cooled, store in an airtight container and try not to eat it all at once.  Use any nuts you like, I like using almonds, I sometimes add a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Also, feel free to add various toasted seeds or dried fruit after it has cooled.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

