Mincemeat mania

DSC03112

 

My name’s Little Chef and I’m a mincemeat-aholic.  This is an ongoing issue which I am trying to work through with the help of my family and friends.  Admittedly some of the people that are close to me are not helping my recovery as they are facilitating my addiction.  For instance, my mother has already bought me 4 gluten free christmas cakes, at my request.  This is therefore ‘enabling’ me to get through the next few months with a prolonged sense of festivity.

However, I have decided to embrace this addiction and deal with the repercussions.  The only major side effects I can foresee at this point are the continued expansion of the thigh area and episodes of extreme euphoria.  Both of which, I am willing to risk.  As my shop bought festive options are massively limited by my stupid, stupid coeliac disease, I pretty much have to make all my festive favourites.  Having not yet discovered a good gluten free pastry recipe, I thought I would forego the mince pies and try something a little different.  I was discussing this quandary with a chef friend who suggested a mince pie cupcake!  What a genius.  I would love to take the glory for this most excellent idea but I’m too honest.  All kudos has to go to Northern Nick.

And so the mince pie cupcake with brandy butter frosting was born.  I wanted something which would contain the spirit of Christmas but without the in your face love me or hate me brazenness of pure mincemeat.  I was searching for something a little lighter, I wanted to have a fling with mincemeat, not marry it!

I managed to scrawl down the recipe as I went along and it turned out to be pretty blooming tasty.  There was definitely Christmas in there, in the spices and the brown sugar and there was a whole lotta Christmas in the overtly boozy brandy buttercream frosting.  Yum-diddly-scrumptious!  I plan to make another batch as soon as I get another day off.

Little Chef’s Christmas cupcakes

250g Butter

250g Soft brown sugar

4 eggs

100g Almond meal

100g Plain flour (I used gluten free)

250g Mincemeat (I found a lovely one which contained dark chocolate)

2 tsp Baking powder

Zest of 1 orange

  • Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy
  • Whisk in eggs one at a time
  • Gently fold in almond meal, flour, baking powder and zest
  • Then fold in the mincemeat, making sure it’s all evenly mixed.
  • Now, pop the mixture into cupcake cases and bake at 180 degrees for 13-18 minutes depending on your oven
  • Your cupcakes are ready when a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Eat them with gusto and a nice port, preferably by an open fire, looking out onto a snowy landscape, with a dog resting at the feet of your rocking chair.  Too much?  Maybe a tad but you get the idea.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mincemeat mania

  1. lizzie

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 does it make 12 or 24?

Leave a Reply

