Chocolate mousse, that is all. Ooh, and salted almond praline! That is all.

 

Now.  Chocolate.  I nearly claimed squatters rights in The Chocolate Shop at Liberty in London today.  My love of chocolate goes way back.  In fact, one of my earliest and most profound memories is of my dear, dear Granddad who came to visit us once a week.  And he would always bring chocolate.  I remember there were normally two on rotation, he would bring Milky bar white chocolate one week (my favourite at the time) and Bournville the next week (my sisters favourite at the time).  Although my tastes may have developed and changed, I still have a lot of time for Milky bars, “the milky bars are on me”, sorry, couldn’t resist!  And occasionally he would mix it up by bringing Fruit and nut but that was back in the days when they were actually chock full of fruit and nut.  Oh the glory days.

 

So, I was on dessert duty for family dinner and having been a bit short on time, I thought I would make old reliable chocolate mousse.  I got myself a head start by putting the ramekins in the freezer so they would set quicker.  I’m not just (or even) a pretty face you know.  Chocolate mousse is not hard but it does have a few different components going on when you make it properly.  Although the ingredients are simple, there is a fair bit of whisking and folding of various ingredients.  However…and this is a bloody big however.  It IS worth it.

Don’t even get me started on the creamy, chocolatey richness.  That silken chocolate melting away on your tongue.  Ooh, I’m in heaven just thinking about it.  I might have got a bit over zealous with the bowl licking and there’s even a photo to prove it.  Now, Little Chef doesn’t usually feature on her own blog but this is a funny photo!  See above…

 

 

So, in summation, chocolate mousse is good and easy and quick.  Next time you have to impress your friends or forget to make dessert for your dinner party, this is the one for you.  I topped mine with salted almond praline, it needs a bit of salt to cut through all that sweetness.  Now, sit back with a block of chocolate or even better, this mousse and think about how wonderful mother nature is for giving us the gift of cacao.

Chocolate Mousse from Gourmet Traveller Magazine
Serves 6
Cooking Time Prep time 20 mins, cook 10 mins (plus chilling)

100 gm very dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids), finely chopped
100 gm dark chocolate (55% cocoa solids), finely chopped
125 ml (½ cup) pouring cream, at room temperature
15 ml each Grand Marnier and Kahlua
2 eggs, separated
½ tsp pure vanilla extract
45 gm caster sugar
To serve: pouring cream, coarsely grated dark chocolate and wafers

Melt chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of barely simmering water (5-6 minutes), stir until smooth, set aside.
Whisk cream until soft peaks form (2-3 minutes), set aside.
Whisk liqueurs, egg yolks, vanilla and 30ml hot water in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water until light and fluffy (3-4 minutes). Remove from heat, whisk until cooled to room temperature, then whisk in melted chocolate.
Whisk eggwhites in a separate bowl to soft peaks (1-2 minutes), gradually add sugar and whisk to firm peaks (2-3 minutes). Fold into chocolate mixture, then fold in cream, transfer to a 1-litre serving bowl and refrigerate until firm (2-3 hours). Serve quenelles of mousse drizzled with cream and scattered with grated chocolate, with wafers for dipping.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chocolate mousse, that is all. Ooh, and salted almond praline! That is all.

  1. Espen Jewhurst

    It tasted good. I LIKE.

  2. Tonia

    Sounds divine, I have been on a retro chocolate mousse trip this winter too, somehow enough time has passed from the bad versions of the 80s to remind ourselves why it is indeed a classic! Am missing your salted praline part of the recipe though, agree it would cut through and aid me in reaching for the lonely leftover ramiken after my bookclub have devoured them…

    • I’ll pop the praline recipe up tomorrow. It’s bed time in Little Chef land. And I’ll have to write the recipe as I make it up as I go along usually. Little Chef

      • Jul

        This sounds delicious, although chocolate isn’t really my thing, I can’t wait to try it . . . . . . . . . . Jul x

  3. Sissel

    Feel very privileged to have been treated to this yummy dessert Amelia ! BIG thanks and hugs x x Sissel

Leave a Reply

