The home stuff

What can I say?  I had the best of intentions…to write and write and write on this holiday.  But I think the thing I always forget is that coming home is not a holiday.  It is a time to be surrounded, to feel the thing I rarely feel, surrounded.  And when you are surrounded by people it is not conducive to writing.  I am far too preoccupied with cuddling my beautiful newly arrived niece and helping my sister.  Writing is lurking in the back of my mind, that thing I’m supposed to be doing.

I have been cooking a lot, nurturing the people I love by doing the thing I adore.  For me, it is about taking a load off, helping out with someone’s day and sometimes it is just about showing off.  Last week I made something special for my Daddy, we went down to the local market and picked up some fantastic local produce.  There were fresh peas and broad beans and samphire with fresh fish and basil hollandaise, it was lovely.  Cooking on my Dad’s crazy Aga like stovetop was definitely a challenge but nothing Little Chef couldn’t handle.  Here’s a picture of the lovely greenery I bought at the market.

This week has been about cooking substantial meals for my family, nourishing them for the challenges of parenthood.  In between we have been sneaking out for coffees and lunches in London.  Tonight I am cooking some Asian style duck legs, if something good comes of it, I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow.

So, there it is, I’ve been neglecting you all due to the high proportion of hugs I have been administering to my niece.  I will do my very best to keep you all entertained over my last few days in London.  Cake baking tomorrow and Borough Market on Saturday, can’t wait.  I will keep you posted…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

