Wonderful wedding cake for wonderful people

 

There are some people in your life who you just love, no matter what, no matter how far apart you are or how often you speak.  Mr G is one of those people.  I have grown up with him, I have laughed with him, I have cried with him.  He is like a brother to me.  And last weekend, my little brother from another mother did something terribly grown up and got married to a beautiful, perfect bride.  There was so much love in the air on Saturday, I feared I might explode.  Everywhere I turned there were smiles and laughter on the faces of the guests.

It was a perfect English wedding, beautiful wild flowers filled the church and adorned the tables and there was a gin fizz cocktail on arrival.  The sun even made a rare appearance for the special day.  I, as usual offered to make the cake.  It was an epic four tiers of rich fruit cake and simnel cake.  The vintage look ribbons were the perfect accompaniment to the tiny hand piped polka dots.  When it was finally assembled, I took a big sigh of relief and went home to share some pre-wedding champagne with my family.

What a treat to know that I made a tiny contribution to the wedding of two truly fabulous friends.  Good luck with what I know will be a wonderful marriage, congratulations again Mr and Mrs G!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Wonderful wedding cake for wonderful people

  1. Jul

    It was the best of times, it was the best of times. What a fabulous day to share with friends and family, old and (some very) new. The bride and groom looked wonderful and ecstatically happy 🙂

    The cake. . . . . was the icing on the day

    Well done everyone.

    Love Jul xxx

Leave a Reply

