Go bananas!

I love waking up and having the time to make a proper breakfast.  And by proper, I generally either mean laden with fat or laden with sugar, preferably both.  Sorry, but muesli just ain’t gonna cut it when I have time on my hands.  I also had some over-ripe banana’s on my hands.  This seems to be becoming a bit of a trend, I am banana mad and am already planning a little batch of banana cupcakes with my remaining two.  But I can’t decide whether to make the passionfruit macarons first…  So many decisions, so much time!  Anyway, back to the matter in hand.  Breakfast. 

Breakfast has become a bit of a barren wasteland for me since I was diagnosed as Coeliac.  All of a sudden, I had to rule out croissants (my favourite day off treat), crumpets with prerequisite butter dribbling down arm, virtually every breakfast cereal etc etc.  I could go on forever, but I won’t.  Instead I will triumphantly inform you that I have made it out of the quagmire of dwelling on what I can’t eat and I’m finding new breakfast tricks.  They’re not really tricks as such, sometimes it’s as simple as swapping the flour for gluten free flour which is pretty much, what I have done in this recipe.  This can be your breakfast tomorrow.  Surprise your partner with a fancy breakfast, invite a friend around or do what I did and simply gorge on them quietly whilst watching bad breakfast tv. 

Now, these are really simple to make.  There is not much measuring or weighing as there are not many ingredients.

Banana pancakes

 

1/2 Cup Plain flour (substitute for gluten free plain flour if you so wish, if you don’t have a cup measure, fill your measuring jug to 125ml)                                                                                                                                   

1  and a 1/2 tsp Baking powder

Pinch of salt

1/2 tsp Vanilla extract

One small banana (roughly 65g once peeled)

One egg

100 ml Milk

  • Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  • Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl
  • Put vanilla extract, banana, egg and milk in a small blender and blitz til smooth.  If you don’t have a blender just mash banana throughly and then whisk altogether by hand.
  • Combine wet and dry ingredients, mix throughly but don’t overwork.
  • Leave batter to stand for 10 mins, make yourself a coffee whilst you wait, start the crossword.
  • Put a frying pan on a medium heat with a small amount of oil in the pan.  If you have egg rings, which are roughly 10cm wide then grease well and place in pan.  Pour the batter into each ring until just less than a cm deep, they will rise.  If you don’t have rings, just pour batter into the pan until you have the desired size of pancake, space well apart. 
  • The pancakes will start to form air bubbles on top, kind of like a crumpet, when the surface has lots of bubbles and the pancake looks set at the edges, carefully flip it over, leaving the ring on, if you can.  It can get a bit messy and they do leak a bit when you flip them but don’t worry.
  • Once the other side is golden brown, transfer to the oven to keep warm and cook through whilst you cook the remainder of the batter.
  • Now serve with whatever takes your fancy, more banana slices, ice cream, maple syrup, blueberries, melted nutella to name but a few.

I served mine with a despicable amount of maple syrup and some icing sugar, because icing sugar always looks pretty.  It was all delightfully washed down with a steaming cup of chai tea.  Right, it must be time to take a crack at those macarons…  I’ll keep you posted.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Go bananas!

  1. Monique

    Yummo, I will deff be trying those out this weekend GF style

  2. Natasha

    Your timing is impeccable…recipe available just in time for Shrove Tuesday. x

Leave a Reply

