Covered in butter. Scattered in sea salt. Popcorn!

I have an addiction.  It is not that hard to admit, in fact I am quite proud of this addiction.  It has been a long and unrelenting love affair with the wonder that is popcorn…

I like it sweet, I like it salty, sometimes I like it a little bit of both.  I like it with curry spices as Miss K makes it, I like it slathered in caramel and dried out in the oven.  But mostly I just like it with way too much butter and way too much salt.  People wonder why they like my popcorn so much but the answer is simple, if you put that much salt and fat on roadkill it would probably taste good. 

The thing that continues to surprise me is how ridiculously, profoundly easy it is to make.  Most of the people I know think that popcorn comes out of a little paper bag that you put in the microwave but we don’t even own a microwave so it sure don’t happen that way in our house.  I am glad to say that it is really easy to make.  And it’s cheap and it’s a very quick snack.  All you need is…

Corn kernals

Veg oil ( or similar )

Salt

Butter

A large pot with a lid

Ok, let’s get started. 

You pour a little oil in the base of your pot, probably about a tablespoon depending on the size.  Just enough to have a thin film on the base of the pan.  Put the pot on a medium heat on the stovetop for about a minute, then carefully pour in the kernals, just enough so that they lay in a single layer on the bottom of the pan.  Give them a little shake.  They will start to sizzle a little bit just to let you know that they’re doing something.  Then, the magic happens.  As soon as the first one pops, shove the lid on quicksmart, because they are about to go ballistic!

You have to listen carefully at this stage as you don’t want those little nuggets to burn.  They will pop very enthusiastically at first but after about a minute it will begin to slow.  As soon as it starts to slow, pull it off the heat.  I now pour my corn into a big bowl, I let the pan cool for a minute or two then I add a big blob of butter and swirl it round the pan until it’s all melted.  Pour this over the corn, toss it around in the bowl to distribute the golden nectar that is butter and then sprinkle with sea salt. 

I use loads of butter and loads of salt but this is my own personal choice to occassionally be really unhealthy, if however, you are unfit, have a dodgy ticker or really shouldn’t have that much salt and fat then simply use less!  Don’t come crying to me when the doctor tells you that you have high cholesterol. 

So, I have informed you and now I have warned you and now go away and make it and let me know how it goes. 

P.S.  It is really, really, really, really addictive!  ( I think I might go home now and get a’poppin )

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Covered in butter. Scattered in sea salt. Popcorn!

  1. Nic

    I LOVE popcorn too. I always have a bag of kernals stashed away in the cupboard for those emergency snacks or class parties where your kid has to bring a plate and your remember that morning. In fact, when I was pregnant with my second child, I ate fresh popcorn everyday with loads of sea salt, and cooked in olive oil. Oh, the texture…the flavour….mmmm xxx

  2. Gill

    awesome….my first popcorn lesson! promise to give it a shot very soon!

    xoxo

  3. Natasha

    Now I want popcorn and have no kernels! xxx

Leave a Reply

