I love silly questions

My lovely readers have brought up some interesting questions, which I figured I may as well address on the blog directly. 

A reader asked  ‘if a recipe calls for regular potatoes, can you substitute for sweet potato?’

Firstly, there is no such thing as a dumb question. I see this blog very much as a forum in which I hope to glean as much knowledge from my readers as they glean from me.  In answer to the question, it depends on the recipe really, it is a very interesting question though, in most cases I think it would be fine.  However, sweet potato obviously has a sweet flavour and therefore might make some dishes taste a little challenging, shall we say. 

For instance, if you were making Shepherds pie and wanted to change the mash topping for sweet potato mash, I think that would be downright delicious.  However, if you were making a traditional leek and potato soup, I’m not sure how that would work with sweet potato.  The beauty of cooking and food though, is the versatility, if you want to know how it tastes, try it.  Be brave, make a mess, get excited about food! 

Sweet potato is one of those ingredients that I always forget how much I like, until I have it again.  My favourite way with sweet potato is, chop it up into 1 inch chunks, toss it in a bowl with some oil (this helps to get an even coat without smothering it), chuck it onto a roasting tray, and sprinkle with just a little bit of cinnamon and fresh or ground chilli.  Roast at 180 degrees til it’s soft and caramelised around the edges.  If you don’t like chilli then don’t use it or just try something new, maybe a bit of Ras el Hanout (Moroccan spice blend) or mixed spice.  Sometimes if I’m feeling naughty I sprinkle a wee bit of brown sugar over before roasting, just for good measure. 

Right, I’m off to research recipe ideas for the great pork cook off tonight and also to hand roll 40 meatballs for my birthday dinner later this week.  Wish me luck…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I love silly questions

  1. Nic

    Sweet potato is yummo! I have had success substituting sweet potato for pumpkin in Pumpkin Pie from my Cooking with Kurma vego cook book.

  2. cat erpiller

    Potatas Bravas?

Leave a Reply

